
Where is the Cue Ball?
Some time ago I was asked for a ruling on a situation which occurred during a match where a player had fouled by pocketing the cue ball. It was understood that the cue ball was now in hand as stated in rule 9. The difficulty came when the cue ball was placed to his satisfaction in the ‘D’ by the incoming striker. Before he could play a stroke he inadvertently moved an object ball with his sleeve. I asked the striker and the acting referee who had both posed the question, if t